Hugh Rosen, M.D., Ph.D., Professor, Chemical Physiology, Scripps Research Institute 

Hugh Rosen is Professor of Chemical Physiology at The Scripps Research Institute. He received his M.D. from the University of Cape Town and his Ph.D. from Oxford. After 11 years at Merck, he returned to academia in early 2002 to the Scripps Research Institute, to pursue his primary interests in signaling lipids, and to contribute towards the translational infrastructure at TSRI. He chaired the Molecular Libraries Screening Network Steering Group, a part of the NIH Roadmap, and is principal investigator of the Scripps Research Institute Molecular Screening Center. He is Associate Editor of Molecular Pharmacology and Scientific Co-founder of Receptos Pharmaceuticals. A frequent invited speaker to national and international research meetings and major research universities, Dr, Rosen studies novel chemical approaches to immuno-modulation helpful in treating autoimmune and infectious diseases. Dr. Rosen currently serves on the Scientific Board of the Myeloproliferative Diseases Foundation.

Jack W. Szostak, Ph.D., Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; Professor of Genetics, Harvard Medical School; Nobel Laureate 

Dr. Szostak received the 2009 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for his fundamental contributions to our understanding of telomere structure and function, and the role of telomere maintenance in preventing cellular senescence. Dr. Szostak's early research on the genetics and biochemistry of DNA recombination led to the double-strand-break repair model for meiotic recombination. In the 1990s, Dr. Szostak and colleagues developed in vitro selection as a tool for the isolation of functional RNA, DNA and protein molecules from large pools of random sequences. His laboratory has used in vitro selection and directed evolution to isolate and characterize numerous nucleic acid sequences with specific ligand binding and catalytic properties. Dr. Szostak is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and a Fellow of the New York Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Dr. Szostak has published over 200 scientific papers and has been awarded 15 US patents.

Alexander D. MacKerell, Jr., Ph.D., Grollman-Glick Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences; Director, Computer-Aided Drug Design Center, School of Pharmacy, University of Maryland, Baltimore

Alex MacKerell received a Ph.D. in Biochemistry in 1985 from Rutgers University, which was followed by postdoctoral fellowships in the Department of Medical Biophysics, Karolinska Intitutet, Stockholm, Sweden and the Department of Chemistry, Harvard University.  In 1992 he assumed his faculty position in the School of Pharmacy, University of Maryland where he is currently the Grollman-Glick Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences and the Director of University of Maryland Computer-Aided Drug Design Center.